Experience.


Image

I will never forget this day maybe. Never. Actually if I be honest with myself, I don’t want to forget it myself. I am writing to record it.

It is like one week today since I am doing proper driving. Not to mention I never drove at night or say after Magreb. I stopped near Paradise for some medicines. I was with my mother. We were leaving the shop when the bomb exploded. Let me explain. It was HUGE EXPLOSION. HUGE. Within seconds dust was everywhere. Sky was looking as if someone lit lantern there. It was ajeeeb… Ammi was afraid. She was like “chaloo chaloo”. I was like “ammi ruk jaeen thora! Let it all cool down”.

People started shutting down their shops. The “all-laughing-area” became area of remorse. People were running. They were hitting each other. Everything got messed up. Everything was in front of me. Everything.

The first thing which came in my mind was little absurd, “What about car? Is it exploded with explosion?” The reason this came in my mind was because I parked little far away from the shop because of the congested area. And that “far-away-place” was near the place where bomb exploded. I was continuously asking ammi to wait, to wait, let everything cool down. But my typical ammi. “nae! Bass chaloo ghar chaloo!” I was like “yaar mujhay gari nahi ati chalani..Why don’t you understand!.. Everyone is in hurry. Everyone wants to go. If you have to die, you will die anywhere anytime. Just believe it!”

She was still “nahi nahi! Bas chaloo” ..  I said to myself “Wafa ammi is saying. Ammi ammi hoti hain”. I reversed.. ammi was like “speed do, bhagaoo”.. I was like “BASS! “ I know I screamed. But it was the only thing which I could do. She was on verge of crying. I had faced similar situations and I knew the only solution is to “cool down”. The only difference was all those times I wasn’t the driver and today I was the driver. A NEW DRIVER.

Next thing which happened was what I was expecting “Everything was JAM PACk” means we had to reverse. I hate reversing. And reversing in between so many cars was task! Seriously Allah is merciful. I was reversing when everything started clearing. And again I changed my gear to 1st.

Ambulances were everywhere. Sounds of ambulances were complete torture. Moreover, people who ever acting as “volunteers” were the one I wanted to slap; like TIGHTELY slap. They were hitting every car k “chaloo chaloo” ..I was like “aray kuttoo jab jaga nahi hai tu kahan say nikalooon!” and seriously it was not because I am new driver and I couldn’t see the space, actually there wasn’t any space seriously.

The dose I gave to ammi wasn’t enough I guess. So ammi said “Turn left, Turn left.. everyone is going there”. I had two options. Either I go straight for which I had to wait and second was to turn left and let everyone go. I took left. And boooo welcome the road to “Patel Hospital”. Though the road was clear but I knew these cars were going towards Patel. This was my decision to just STOP! I parked the car. Ammi was like chaloo chaloo… agay chaloo… I wasn’t sure if Ammi was showing “bachpana” or I was. I asked ammi to cool down.

We saw ambulances coming one after the other. Each carrying at least three people. And the way they were being carried was awful. There was an ambulance which had four patients. Two were on bed. Other was on floor of ambulance. His head was out of ambulance. Latka hoa. And the fourth one was lying on him. It was AWFUL. I swear.

Then we saw a man walking holding his head. He was full in blood. It seemed as if someone dipped him in pool of blood and took him out. I was seriously ashamed of myself. I wish I could have helped him. I wish.

After 10-15 min I reversed because ammi was watching all this and I knew it will stick in her head. I said to myself ”I have to do it”. So reversed and went again to the same road and BOOO! Another blast! This time I was like “I HAVE TO GO; THAT’S IT!” Alhamdullilah Alhamdullilah Alhamdullilah I know how I drove. I know how controlled I was. Kherr….

Today I saw what happens in these scenarios. What I don’t understand is why people do it. Like if I make assumptions here. Then,

  1. Party clashes ( Allah k banday! You are killing thousands just to take revenge!?)
  2. Jihad. (Is this Jihad? LANAT!)
  3. I am blank.

I dunno what else can be the reason. Whatever it can be. Its bad. Very bad. Please Fear Allah. All I can say.

P.s- Its now 2hrs since we r home. And I can notice ammi is still absent. She is watching news since then. I knew this is going to happen.

I still dunno I was the one acting childish or ammi. But I think it is ammi this time.

7 thoughts on “Experience.

  1. With all due respect, I think it was you.

    Mothers have a habit of freaking out in tough situations. It gets worse when they are freaking out not just about the situation at hand (being in or near a blast site in traumatic enough) but also for one of her children.

    I don’t know if you have brothers, but to be out at a time like this with just her daughter and no husband/son to support or protect, you can very well imagine what your mother would’ve been going through. Plus, all the injured or dead people were not helping either.

    If you think you were “calm” or “cool” or “controlled” then you should’ve been more considerate towards your mother. You should’ve told her gently to calm down because you were trying to take her and yourself to safety. You should’ve told her to recite duas or held her hand. And if none of this had worked, then when you parked the car you should’ve let her freak out. If she was yelling, or crying, or whatever it is she was doing you should’ve allowed her to take it all out of her system because mothers freak out. They ALWAYS freak out, sometimes, YOU have to be the strong, the wise one, as some people are not able to deal with such situations no matter how many times they face it, the solution is not to tell them to suck it. Be gentle.

    And please don’t abuse the volunteers, they were trying to help.

    And this is no Jihad! And this no Islam! Infact, it is no religion at all, it is all a political game for some power hungry monsters! May Allah bless Pakistan and its people inshaAllah.

    Like

    • My family doesn’t live in Pakistan. I am only the unfortunate one who is here for my studies while my mum comes to visit me. -_- So yehh! this could be the reason.
      Hina, why shouldn’t I abuse when they were literally BANGING car and moreover they opened our main driver door. Like fine, there was panic everywhere. But this freaked me out. LIKE TOTALLY FREAKED. I thought he was snatching car. I know how I closed the door. ( I didn’t want to mention this door thing and record it here. Well now I did it.)
      Yes, I should have let her yell etc etc. But this would have freaked me out and I didn’t want to loose my senses. I was the one driving. I was the one responsible for my life, ammi life and not to mention others life too which was already at stake.

      Like

      • A kind word goes a long way, that was all I am saying.

        I understand that it must have been really scary but understand ye bacharay log apni marzi se bas madad karne atay hain. Sometimes, yes, they mess up but it is not their fault as they are not trained individuals, they are being good samaritans only. And that should be appreciated esp. jab sabko apni apni hi parri hoti hai.

        Isliye tau I said when you parked the car you should’ve just given her an out ke nikaal len bharaas but do not say anything while I am driving. I would’ve done that. My Mom freaks out on every little thing, even if my brother is driving on the road but we have learned to calm her down 🙂

        I am not saying it was easy for you, I am so sorry you had to go through all that, I am just it is twice as scary for people who don’t live here 😦

        Like

  2. This horrifying, unfortunate act of terrorism claimed many lives. Its so saddening to see how people just fail to take into consideration the value human life when they even think of doing such an act.
    I hope to see justice prevailing in this case, like in all similar case; may the guilty be brought to task. May our nation be free from this plague.
    Take care of yourself 🙂

    Like

  3. Terrifying! it was so horrible to see all that disaster that had occured in abbas town on news, i wonder how it might have been for those who encountered it and it’s natural for aunty to act this way firsly she’s a mother secondly she lives out of country even i’d have lost all senses in such circumstances 😐 seriously it gives me goosebumps when i hear the stories of the martyrs and those who lost their loved ones.:( sigh. Khair Allah ka shukar atleast you guys all safe 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

