Homeschooling experiment 7


This was long awaited post not because fawaaz learnt everything but because fawaaz went to Pakistan and MashaAllah experienced the love of relatives for the first time. He got to know why Dada, Dado, Nana and Nano are so popular 😉

He didn’t want to come back. Alhamdullilah for everything. Alhamdullilah that Allah Taala has put love in Fawaaz heart for his cousins and relatives even when he is living so apart.

Well, since I went to Pakistan and I got the golden opportunity to go to Karachi Book Festival so I bought too many books for fawaaz. I realized after coming to home that I bought a lot but I am satisfied with my shopping 😉 No regrets!

We have been currently using these books for english, urdu, and for random activities. Some of them were brought in Japan while others are from Pakistan.

For Maths, the ladybird number book was very interactive because it had stickers. Fawaaz quickly learnt numbers through this book as he loves stickers/activities. Kindergarten skills book has largest, smallest, odd-one-out, shapes concept along with alphabets so this helped pretty well. Below picture is how we gave him concept of big and small. 🤷‍♀️

We have started to give him addition concept through eggs, chicken and french fries 🍗🥚🍟 as he loves it but we haven’t formally started it. So here is the picture of 1-12 written by Fawaaz.

For English, my personal favourite is “first time learning alphabet” book because it includes from pre-writing skills until reading. It is like a complete package for a child who just started learning alphabets. Fun book is the next favorite as it is focusing on alphabets and numbers (A-Z , a-z and 1-20) from every aspect (through tracing, mazes, puzzles, pictures). It even has basic addition and subtraction too which I haven’t started formally to Fawaaz.

This book below is very good for activities for kids like Fawaaz who loves mazes. He completed this book within a week. (He loved it so much that he wanted to complete in a day. I hope his problem solving skills gets enhanced by doing so many mazes 🤷‍♀️)

All in All, Fawaaz is around 3 years and 8 months now to be precise. He is done with capital letters and starting letters. For starting letters, I used random worksheets from internet.

I started small letters with him before going to Pakistan and he was half way done but since I wasn’t able to give time to him in Pakistan, he forgot everything and I had to start from scratch. He picked up fast this time because maybe it is like “getting-my-memory-back” ⚡️⚡️

We are also starting slowly “-at” words. For that purpose, I made a game for fawaaz. It is purely a random idea. I hope it works for long time.

Fawaaz is enjoying so far. I hope he gets the idea before getting bored.

For Urdu, recently I started with urdu writing but it seems he isn’t enjoying it as such. After seeing his lack of interest I asked him to pick whatever he likes and as predicted he picked up ABCD. I asked some homeschool mums what to do in such situations, most of them suggested to go slowly and gradually. Maybe I will go with one letter a week. Below are some books I am using for urdu. All are same but since my son gets bored quickly so I have 4 books to shuffle 🤣

The best one among them is of Shanzay Tariq’s 5 in 1 book not only because it is a complete package but also because it has stickers. 🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️

For speaking, his Urdu has improved because he went to Pakistan and conversed a lot with his Dada, Dado, nana and nano. To my utter surprise, his english speaking skills got better too as most of his cousins were speaking English. This also gave me the idea of giving him company of English speakers to make him learn English quickly but where to find them in Japan 😪

Other than this, I have been working on his emotions. I got this idea from internet. This helped me a lot. Along with this, whenever we read any story book. I point out the faces of people and asking him if they are sad, happy or angry. This way he got to know how to show emotions which helped me a lot to predict him too.

For reading, we are using different books. Most of them are Level 1 in order to motivate Fawaaz to read. Level 1 books usually have more pictures than words which makes it interactive and predictable too which helps to build their confidence.

Below are some books among many in which fawaaz is taking interest these days.

For islamic teaching, we are starting to give him concept of Jannah. We also bought some books to connect him with Islam but these days I am realizing that I should also tell him a bit about christianity as Christmas is all over the place here in Japan. I would like to go with the flow as he already has started asking questions. So I guess this questions is also not so far 🙂

Apart from these books, we also bought some Anbiya stories which I verbally tell him at night before sleeping. I feel that it is the time when he connects with me; listens to me. We memorize/revise all duaas and suraahs at this time. It is like heart to heart talking time. 🥰🥰 (also because all day he just wants to run)

There is lot to share which includes my Pakistan trip too but I guess the post is long enough so leaving it for next time 😉

Link to collection of worksheets I gathered:

https://l.messenger.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fdrive.google.com%2Ffolderview%3Fid%3D1-MhZULErPIFxvCAE3qnWwcF7UjlzjKmL&h=AT1mzu5UPEf1JFdoISHGfjmgkd3pIWMXtt1-mFc0942lqDYZpsK5V_rfCAz–zV5eWyj_tIcIiosdBbOJs89rFqBihZAs5QtLiajBZxRg0S2dqMdIys0x4NHVm_JKvW8VXQ

To read previous posts click below:

Homeschooling 6

Homeschooling 5

Homeschooling 4

Homeschooling 3

Homeschooling 2

Homeschooling 1

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling experiment 7

  1. Pingback: Homeschooling 8 | My World!

  2. Pingback: Ramadan special- Homeschooling | My World!

  3. Pingback: Homeschooling 10 (a)- My reflections. | My World!

Leave a comment