Homeschooling 10 (a)- My reflections.


Last year was very hectic with so many things on hand. Some of the pros of homeschooling is that you can regulate things according to your schedule.

Nonetheless, according to John Hault, kids are always in learning mode. If you haven’t read John Hault yet, it is a must read to know “one side” of homeschool perspective. It isn’t lengthy and available online easily.


Well, the homeschooling game is going strong with lots of criticisms from here and there. Alhamdulillah. But still I plan to do it as long as I can Insha’Allah.


Just to answer many questions and to check his already-known ability. We went for grade one admission test at age of 5 years. And alhamdullilah he cleared it. Many might comment that we should not put a child in pressure when you are opting for homeschooling. I respect your comment.

Well, I made this certificate for him as an appreciation.

Since I started to post watsapp statuses, I have been getting request to make proper insta account or blog to save the stories.
First and foremost, I don’t want another insta addiction in my life. Facebook is doing enough harm. Secondly, I have this blog to utilise so why insta. So I am now trying to be active here again.

Before I start to jot down the journey, I want to shed light on some of my findings/experiences in these years which are crucial for you to know. (which many people do not mention).

  1. Pressure
    There will be a lot of pressure in this journey. Doubting your own capabilities and your child’s capabilities. Don’t come under it.
  2. Unwanted Advices/Suggestions
    Always remember advices cost nothing. So you will be bombarded with them. See who is giving. And then either take it or ignore it.
  3. Learn to say NO.
    There will be advices which can be ignored by just ignoring or mere “okay, I will look into it”. Other needs you to be vocal.
    “That is a very good opinion in itself, but I would like to go for this one instead”
    “That is not in line with my goals”
  4. Trust your gut feeling.
    Mother feelings for her child are right most of the time. Don’t underestimate yourself.
  5. Turn criticisms into creativity.
    This is very interesting as well as very difficult.
  6. Don’t be extremest
    There are always two sides of the story. Homeschooling isn’t the solution for every person and for every child. Every child is different and so are the needs. John Hault might be the famous person in Homeschooling field but there are abundant books and researchs available to buck up schooling too.
    Always see what is best for you and for your child and act accordingly.
  7. Don’t compromise on your mental health. This point is for those who understands what mental health is. You should know how homeschooling is effecting you and your child and your family as a whole. This cannot be one person decision.

You should be able to digest these points before moving to my upcoming blogs inshaAllah.

To read previous posts click below: Homeschooling 9 Homeschooling 8 Homeschooling 7 Homeschooling 6 Homeschooling 5 Homeschooling 4 Homeschooling 3 Homeschooling 2 Homeschooling 1

Leave a comment