Ramadan special- Homeschooling 9


IMG_20200525_111403Ramadan special

Before Ramadan I was bit worried for fawaaz and my schedule. But Allah Taala has his plans. Alhamdulillah fawaaz learning in Ramadan was focused on Ramadan material more than our conventional material. Since he is 4 years old now, he can learn through observing.

I tried to enroll him in an online islamic class conducted by my dear friend but it did not work for us. One hour of class was a marathon for me where fawaaz kept running and I used to run behind him; dragging him back. Though the content of the class was too good but I guess it was high level for fawaaz. Or probably too boring for him. Anyways, we quit after 2nd class.

Luckily fawaaz own playschool started online. Fawaaz enjoyed it too much. He used to ask me everyday if his sensei will come online.

Mostly they focused on craft activities. I observed fawaazs’ interest and took him to next level of the concept which teacher was giving.

It was also different experience for me to see how his play school works and it gave me satisfaction that my child is in good hands. Alhamdullilah

Starting off, in Ramadan I started with five pillars of Islam as the first islamic school, I enrolled fawaaz in, started with it. The pace of that school was too fast so I gave him some supplementary materials so fawaaz could get hang of it.

I gave him some colouring pages. And showed him some videos of Zaky. Alhamdulillah he grasped the concept of it.

Moreover, to go in depth of 5 pillars, I told him the concept of fast. Whenever he used to ask us to eat with him, I say that we will eat in iftar as we are fasting. I made sure to make him busy somehow in iftaar preparation. Making juice for iftaar was his duty. Putting cloth and setting plates was also his duty Alhamdulillah which he enjoyed a lot.

We made a sadqa jar. I tried to tell him the benefits of spending money in the path of Allah. There was a point in Ramadan when he reminded me that we have to put money in jar. Alhamdulillah.

He prayed with us together in Jamaat, sometimes even he used to recite surahs behind his father. The concept of hajj is not clear to him yet but inshaAllah soon I will introduce him.

We revised kalmah shahdah and we learnt how to do tasbeeh. All of it was learning by seeing more than formal learning.

Then, we also made name of Allah by stars. Alhamdulillah fawaaz can write name of Allah in English as well as Arabic/Urdu now.

We started Noorani Qaida too. We sticked to first page whole Ramadan but Alhamdulillah now he can recognise and read all arabic letters.

Interesting part, wea made some Eid banners, colouring pages and cards for our friends and post them as a surprise. The purpose of it was to instill the importance of friendship/ exchanging gifts and most importantly to emphasize on the month of Ramadan.

Playschool came up with the idea of a dua card. Children had to make their wish to Allah. I really liked the idea because fawaaz list was endless so I decided to do it everyday. So in last asharah this was our must routine. This activity was so productive. Fawaaz gradually started to write all small wishes on card. This activity fulfilled it’s purpose of teaching him the concept of asking everything to Allah. Moreover, he learnt the spelling of “Allah Taala” and words like “I want”. But the funny side is that now he wants a card everytime he wants something. He thinks that Allah will grant his wish only if he will write and stick. Lol.

davIMG_20200515_150809

Btw, on Eid day, we tried to fullfill his wishes by giving him gifts he wanted. But you know, all wishes are not to be granted, so we skipped some.

His playschool teacher tried to tell the concept of phases of moon. Fawaaz was not able to get it so we did some activities for it by taking help from internet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

He still hasn’t grasped the concept fully but atleast it is in his mind now.

Other than these, there were different crafts we did which you can see in the main picture which included painting, colouring, writing and sticking stickers (fawaaz favourite task).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The reason of this post is not to flaunt but to remind myself next time about activities I can do with children. 😛

To read previous posts click below:

Homeschooling 8

Homeschooling 7

Homeschooling 6

Homeschooling 5

Homeschooling 4

Homeschooling 3

Homeschooling 2

Homeschooling 1

Leave a comment